Friday, March 18, 2011

Entries For The 58th National Film Awards 2010

The Directorate of Film Festivals (DFF) has given invitation to the entries for the 58th National Film Awards for 2010 which will be accessible in three sections as feature films, non-feature films and best writing on cinema. The procedure was set in motion with the issuance of the notification to this effect, along with the detailed conventions, which can be watched on the DFF's website.

National Film Awards
The Directorate of Film Festivals is a media unit under the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting, Government of India. The Natioal Film Awards aims at encouraging the production of movies of artistic and technical superiority and social significance contributing to the understanding and positive reception of cultures of different sections of the country in cinematic form, thereby also promoting integration and unity of the nation. In concern of Feature films there are around thirty different awards which fall under following categories like Best Feature Film, Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director, Award for Best Popular Film Providing Wholesome Entertainment, Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration and awards for movies released in regional languages.

Non Feature Flicks carry twenty-two different awards which include- Best Non-feature film, Best Debut Non-feature film of a Director, Best Anthropological and Ethnographic Film and Best Biographical and Historical Reconstruction and compilation film. Only movies specialized by Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) are appropriate for access in these awards. Not just that, there is also a National Award for Best Writing on Cinema which comprises of two different awards such as Best Book on Cinema and Best Critic. The cut-off date for submission of entries is April 7, 2011.

There will be a two tier system i.e., a Regional Jury and Central Jury in a way to make assortment for the range of categories of awards. The Government also gives Indian cinema’s highest honour, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award, to a movie character for his or her wonderful contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema.

Follow Bollywood on twitter.

Wednesday, March 16, 2011

Hindi film industry casts vote for IIFA 2011

The International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) voting weekend for the award in Toronto has been opened on Friday to the members of the Indian Film fraternity. It has been speculated that Kareena leads the first vote. Other actors who cast their votes were Arjun Rampal, Sonu Sood, Karan Johar, Riteish Deshmukh, Ramesh Sippy, J.P. Dutta, Manmohan Shetty, Karan Johar and the other members of the film industry and the Advisory Board of IIFA.

IIFA Awards
In an media interaction Kareena Kapoor reveled that It was a great privilege that has been given to her to cast the first vote and inaugurate the 12th IIFA Voting Weekend. She also added that IIFA has set a high standard with its voting procedure and hence established a benchmark for excellence and credibility. This being the IIFA’s premiere in North America, the actress is eagerly looking forward to the IIFA Weekend in Toronto. This year in 2011 the IIFA celebrations will complete it's 12th year. IIFA will make its North American debut in Ontario, Canada this year wherein the three-day long IIFA Weekend and Awards is all set to take place from the 23 to 25 June.

One of the member from the IIFA Advisory Board, Ramesh Sippy reveled that In the 12th year of IIFA, they will continue the focus of promoting the very best of Indian cinema globally and the IIFA Voting Weekend is a key component of making IIFA, the success it is. He also added that with the Videocon IIFA Weekend and the Micromax IIFA Awards 2011 in Toronto, Cananda they will going to bring the on-screen magic to the Indian industry with the grand celebration of Indian cinema.
Enhanced by Zemanta

Monday, March 14, 2011


12th March 2011 the grand finale of the Big Star IMA awards held with lots of energy, fruition. The star studded event where Abhishek Bachchan, Mika Singh and Shankar Mahadevan brought the house down at the awards function. They shaked their legs on the top bollywood numbers including Jhoom Barabar Jhoom, Beera Beera, Right Here Right Now, Dus Bahane, Jugni, Pyar do Pyar lo.

The mos sensuous beauty of the B wood and the Barbie doll Katrina Kaif fascinate the viewers with her captivating Moulin Rouge-style act as Sheila, while the most versatile singer of the music industry, Sonu Niigam, charmed the audiences with a medley of 23 songs across eras of music. The marvel award night was hosted by entertaining duo Kunal Khemmu and Tushar kapor, who have proved the hilarious jodi in the super hit film Golmaal 3. They both have made audience to laugh with their hearts out througout the gala night. The scitillating night was filled with Bollywood personalities and the music industry, who have walked on the red carpet.

The bollywood directors like Karan Johar, Yash Chopra posed for paparazzo while the glam quotient was heightened by Salim-Suleiman, Luke Kenny, Mamta Sharma and Shruti Pandit, amongst others. The well recognized the best from the music industry across various genres, the marketing arm of the Reliance Broadcast Network Limited, BIG Live have ponder and executed the event. 92.7 BIG FM saw a countdown to the event as well as a live update of the entire event from the venue. The awards offered the best of the industry beat Bollywood to pop, Jazz to Ghazals and Folk to New Age music and more.
Enhanced by Zemanta

Tuesday, March 8, 2011

Lavasa Women's Drive Awards

The third edition of Lavasa Women's Drive Awards that took place at a suburban five star hotel in Mumbai recently.

Anuradha Paraskar Sr Vice President – Marketing, Lavasa Corporation Ltd and Devieka Bhojwani Vice President Women's Cancer Initiative welcomed the participants. The beautiful Aishwarya Rai Bachchan presented awards to the winners of the Lavasa Women's Drive.

Aishwarya Rai
The beautiful actress handed awards to Anisha Oberoi for her continual fight against breast cancer and to Dr K Dinshaw for her exemplary work in cancer research. Stars of the upcoming film Faltu were spotted there during handed over the few awards.

Stand-up comedian Bharati kept everyone in splits while Shweta Pandit mesmerised audience with her rendition of Bollywood numbers. Said Anuradha, "The passionate involvement of all the participants was exemplary. Whilst at Lavasa, not only did they all enjoy the events but in fact many cancer survivors came forth and shared their experiences urging all women to be careful and prevent cancer.

Devika reveled that Lavasa is proud to own this unique concept and looks forward to making it better and better over the years!

It couldn't have been easy getting away on a Sunday morning, but they were all there, bright and early, cheered on by family and friends, in their beautifully decorated cars, carrying message and slogans in support of the cause! I am so glad that at the award function we have also honoured some exceptional women who have dedicated their lives to the cause and cures of cancer, along with some brave cancer survivors.